3 years

Tara&Simon1998

I couldn’t find a photo of Tara from 2006 – or from 1996, for that matter, so here is one of her and Simon from 1998, out in our back garden.  It’s the photo that the Lord of Longitude and I have on our mantelpiece.

I think this might be the last post to commemorate her death.  Not that August 11th won’t always be a stone, weighting down the calendar – but maybe remembering her on her birthday might be better …

… I’m struggling, here …

… I want remembering Tara to be more than about her death.  I want it to be about her intelligence, her friendship, her kindness, her wit, her sense of fun, about saying, look, I knew this REMARKABLE woman, she had such an effect on me in ways obvious and not and I will never forget her.

So, look, I knew this remarkable woman and was lucky enough to be her friend, and I still miss her, it is cruel beyond belief that she died and I still don’t believe it, these three years later, but there it is, and meanwhile all of us who loved her try to get on with our lives and somehow here she is, still, the things she said, the jokes she made, the way she listened, her laugh, what she cared about, all of the stuff that made her Tara, still here, not forgotten, never forgotten.

Tara Louise Few

22.03.68 – 11.08.13

 

2 thoughts on “3 years

Leave a Reply

