… and you’re back in the room

In September, whether I like it or not, I’ll submit my PhD thesis.  Today, though, I don’t really believe that’s going to happen.  I’m re-writing the chapters of my critical study and it’s so. damn. hard.  It’s all I can think about: I forget to brush my hair, to clean my teeth, I go out in jeans that should really have hit the washing basket days ago and still, the damn PhD isn’t finished.  I go out for a walk, I watch TV, I mess about on the interwebz – and still the damn PhD isn’t finished.  I neglect my friends, I forget things at work, I say I can’t possibly do the dusting today – and still the damn PhD isn’t finished.

So, every so often I look at the September page on the calendar and remind myself: In September I will be submitting my thesis.  Me.  No one else.

I wish I could give you an ending to this post that made a point or had a lesson or something.  Just…. hello, I’m still here, I’m sorry I haven’t written in a while.

And still the damn PhD isn’t finished.

8 thoughts on “… and you’re back in the room

  1. Meryl: Nice to hear from you. Would have responded sooner but just back from hols today. Hope it all goes well – will you still be taking the Morley class from September?

    1. Hey, great to hear from you, Derek! I will indeed – watch this space for further details (or just look at the Morley website, I think they’ve already posted up course info).

    1. Thanks, Fiona! And maybe when I hand it in I’ll let myself back on Facebook so I can follow what you’re up to!

Leave a Reply

