Disappointment part deux

Here is George Szirtes being bracingly unselfpitying  and honest about his nomination for the T S Eliot Prize (won, as if you didn’t know, by Philip Gross for The Water Table).

Szirtes is an excellent poet, who makes sonnet sequences and variations thereof look easy – just read his Budapest File – and ih his prime as a poet.  His reading (relaxed, fluid, at home on the stage) for the Prize made that obvious – such precise and expansive stuff!

I’m reading (re-reading) the aforementioned Files to help me make sense of some extended pieces I’m writing myself; things about memory, childhood… including a sonnet sequence, which is terrifying and exciting me.  When I get stuck, there are the Files.  They make it look easy, which at least keeps me hopeful.

Leave a Reply

