Lists

It’s definitely that time of year, isn’t it?  So here’s a question:

How many poems about Museums can you name?

Yes, I will accept a broad definition of Museums (though I don’t think the Hairy Muse would be happy about this) to include Archives, Galleries and – at a pinch – Libraries (though now all my colleagues are up in arms).

Now look at how many my fellow Poets-on-Fire came up with.

And while you’re at it, take a look at the lovely Peony Moon, who’s been posting up lists of people’s favourite poetry books, but who writes about so much more.

On a similar note, don’t you just wish there was a Big Book of Bra Poems?  I’ve just written a poem about my first (in those days they used to be called “training bras”.  Ugh.) and could’ve really done with some previous Bra Poems to look up to and emulate.  How very inadequate my poetry education has been.

2 thoughts on “Lists

  1. Anyone else you want to offend? Libraries?! *Splutter splutter* Not the same universe darling and the Archivists will hate you but they’re quite passive~aggressive so you might never know until it’s too late.

    Poets-on-fire are fabulous though! Well done them. I had an inkling there was an Auden but wasn’t sure even though we read it at A Level!

    1. I love the idea of all these archivists secretly plotting their revenge while smiling sweetly as they file the latest…whatever it is they file. In my defence, poets of all persuasions are so used to being lumped in together with artists, novelists, memoirists ect weary etc that really, a bit of generalising about the rest of the world is fair enough, in my book. Btw, great blog, great blog title. I’m going to link to it NOW!

Leave a Reply

